Hannukah is the memorial to a miracle–the restoration of the Temple and the purported extension of light.

A sum of oil lasts for 8 days when it should only last one. God provides holy light.

A festival of lights is an evocative thing because light is so powerful. We need light.

So it is interesting from a biblical and historical perspective that Hannukah is mentioned in the gospel of John–a version of Jesus’ story so infused with the power of light.

John 10:22-25 (NIV)
Then came the Feast of Dedication at Jerusalem. It was winter, [23] and Jesus was in the temple area walking in Solomon’s Colonnade. [24] The Jews gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Christ, tell us plainly.” [25] Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The miracles I do in my Father’s name speak for me,

Ask yourself–do you believe that the purified oil burned for eight days? A week beyond its natural portion? Or is it just a story?

Ask yourself–does Jesus shine in the darkness? Is he the shamash candle? Do his actions, words, life, death and resurrection stand apart or are they not so real to you?

And to me?

When I come up against the fiery reality of this resurrected Messiah I always, always come up short, realize how dark my own heart is without his miraculous light.