Tonight was a rough night.

Not rough-like-a-trip- to-the-ER-rough. Rough-like-dark-road-at-night-rough.

In the midst of it I received an email from a long ago friend.

He called me by my maiden name–the ghost of me.

I struggle with loss.

So to get that particular email from that particular friend was less a coincidence and more a gift. An answer to prayer. A reminder that the girl I was is not completely gone.

Remembered.

Luke 1 is an answer to prayer. Crazy prayer. Desperate impossible long time coming prayer.

And let’s face it–a busy chapter for Gabriel.

God is in the business of answering the prayers of people who like me, sometimes feel like the ghosts of who they once were.

And then there is beautiful Mary singing her triumphant lullaby–

He has performed mighty deeds with his arm; he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts. [52] He has brought down rulers from their thrones but has lifted up the humble. [53] He has filled the hungry with good things but has sent the rich away empty.

Dear friend, you said you hoped I was well.

Thanks.

Thanks for reminding me of why we have memorials, who we all once were, and that journeys down unfamiliar paths in the dark always matter.

