I have a dear friend who has a religious identity that is vigorously different than mine. I love him and value him and understand his devotion.

And I have to admit, I have always found “bully atheism” a little counter-intuitive. If I had a friend who had a rigorous belief in Zarcon, god of Fribulets, I might pity him for his imaginary god and maybe even gently engage him in dialogue about the origins of his belief system, but I (personally) would not bully him and ridicule him and call him “a brain-dead loser.”

I say all of this because as a Christian I do actually value diversity and truth. I love and respect the range of people I know who have different belief systems than mine. If you don’t believe in “my god” it doesn’t make you stupid or ignorant–so why do you insist on teaching your children to believe that I am “stupid and ignorant” for believing in the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob?

Jesus and Paul and John and James–men who lived and died their belief in this idea–say that if we do not have love, we have nothing.

Does it take a belief in the divine to be tolerant, kind, compassionate? I am often deeply disappointed in “people of faith” when their ignorance and intolerance pierce the veneer of their creed.

But with too many atheists intolerance and disdain are the creed.

Who do I write a letter to in order to protest that?

