Most adult Christians in America, including a disconcerting number of pastors, are unnerved by either my candor about our family history or the history itself.

Can’t tell which anymore.

This makes for lonely Sundays, but not yesterday. Yesterday we had church.. Of course for us church was hot dogs at the pool with our young friends from Burma. I wish we could do it more often and I wish more of my friends from our town were there for these kids.

We were blessed by our time together, but one young man was particularly wonderful–an out-of-town visitor with an endearing smile, he sang to us on the way home.

I did a lot of work yesterday, but none of it mattered, really mattered, the way that hour or two mattered. I will always remember Min singing in the back seat. Real church, real treasure.

